Accenture’s Women on Walls at DCU

WoW - Launch Image_Frame 2

(Pictured clockwise from bottom left-hand corner) Una Sealy, Blaise Smith, Bríd Higgins Ní Chinnéide, Jim Fitzpatrick, Jackie Hudson Lalor.

In June 2020, Accenture in partnership with DCU announced the five award-winning and internationally-acclaimed artists who have been selected for Accenture’s Women on Walls at DCU initiative, which will celebrate the lives of female pioneers in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) through a series of commissioned portraits.

The announcement follows an open call issued to artists nationally in February of this year to apply for the opportunity to create portraits honouring the contributions of Beatrice Alice Hicks, Katherine Johnson, Dame Kathleen Lonsdale, Marie Maynard Daly and Kathleen (Kay) McNulty.

All five are regarded as pioneers in STEM, making significant contributions in their specific discipline, through outstanding research work, scientific breakthroughs and lasting cultural and social change for future generations.

The commissioned portraits will be hung in the Future-Tech building at DCU’s Glasnevin Campus. This flagship building is at the forefront of DCU’s international reputation for excellence in science, computing and engineering disciplines.

Accenture’s Women on Walls initiative is a campaign that seeks to make women leaders visible through a series of commissioned portraits that will create a lasting cultural legacy for Ireland. This is the third chapter of Accenture’s Women on Walls series, which commenced in 2016 with the Royal Irish Academy and was repeated in 2019 with RCSI.

The following artists have been commissioned to complete 5 individual portraits:

Commissioned Artist Subject
Blaise Smith Beatrice Alice Hicks
Bríd Higgins Ní Chinnéide Marie Maynard Daly
Jackie Hudson Lalor Katherine Johnson
Jim Fitzpatrick Kathleen (Kay) McNulty
Una Sealy Dame Kathleen Lonsdale


Learn more here

For any queries or for more information relating to the Women on Walls campaign, please contact:

Design by New Graphic.